Yoga for Courage, Strength and Power, Lakshmi Series, Intermediate Class Yoga with Melissa 164

by Melissa West on

Yoga for Courage, Strength and Power an Intermediate Yoga Class

Props Needed: Yoga Strap, Yoga Block,

Yoga Asanas/Yoga Postures: Makara Mudra, Bridge/Setu Bandha Sarvangasana, Cat/Marjaryasana, Plank Pose/Uttihita Chaturanga Dandasana, Boat Pose/Paripurna Navasana, Kapala Bhati Breath/skull shining breath, Downward Facing Dog/adho mukha svanasana, Warrior I – Warrior III, Virabhadrasana one and Virabhadrasana three, Bow Pose/dhanurasana, Child’s Pose/balasana, Virasana/Hero Pose, Lion’s Pose/Simhasana, Ganesh Mudra

Thank you for leaving your ratings, comments and testimonials by clicking here

For more great videos check out my membership site and become a member today

Have a personalized practice created by ME just for YOU!
Click here for more info

Yoga Teacher Training: Continuing Education for Teachers – Click Here

Show Notes: Veera Lakshmi for Courage, Strength and Power an Intermediate Class

Veera Lakshmi is the form of Lakshmi who gives infinite courage, strength and power. People connect with this form of Lakshmi to gain valor, strength, and to overcome daunting challenges in their lives. Veera Lakshmi will help you live a life of stability.

Veera Lakshmi is also known as Dhairya Lakshmi. You can call on this form of Lakshmi for bravery, fearlessness and a mind to conquer anything. With these attitudes you will be able to lead your life with confidence.

When we think of power, I think our minds and mental constructs go to external images of power such as the warrior archetype, however through courage, strength and power comes a great inner power as well. The connection with Dhairya Lakshmi gives a life of immense patience and inner stability.

Dhairaya means passion. I have been thinking a lot about how yoga affects us on all layers of our being, how we are not just one dimensional beings. As I prepare the Yoga Retreat Cleanse for the members for March of 2013 I am preparing a cleanse not just for their physical bodies, but also for their energetic bodies, their emotional bodies, their mental and thought bodies (their minds), and their spiritual bodies. What is it like to have passion, courage, strength and power on all levels of our being?

Veera Lakshmi has eight arms. Eight is the number of abundance and prosperity. The endless loop in this number signify the infinite flow of money, time, ideas and in this case courage, strength and power to overcome difficulties in your life.

Veera Lakshmi wears red, which is the colour of the root chakra. This is an incredibly grounding, rooting and stabilizing energy which leads to the stability and inner strength that comes from her energy.

Veera Lakshmi carries a chakra (which is a symbol of the cycle of life and death, but in this form is also considered a weapon) and symbolic of power. She also carries other weapons including a bow and arrow. The arrow represents the male and the bow represents the female energy.

Probably the most important weapon that Lakshmi carries is her sword, this is the symbol of wisdom, the battles against ignorance. One of the greatest battles we fight is the inner battle against our own mind and all the stories it weaves. We have to remember not to take our thoughts so seriously, not to get wrapped up in the stories of our past and worries and anxieties about our future. This sword is a great weapon against the wrath of our mind! It takes courage, strength and determination to battle against our minds day in and day out!

Dhairaya Lakshmi also carries a Shankh or a conch shell. The sound of this musical instrument is used to ward off demons. The spiraling in the conch is symbolic of infinite space, reminding us we have infinite space for our growth on the spiritual path.

Veera Lakshmi is also connected to wisdom as she holds in one of her hands a bundle of palm leaf scriptures. Her other two hands are in the abhaya mudra and varada mudra. The abhaya mudra is the mudra of no-fear, which is entirely appropriate for this version of Lakshmi and represents protection, peace, benevolence and the dispelling of fear. With this gesture Lakshmi’s hand is held up as if to say, stop! Stop your worries, there is no need to fear, you will have an abundance courage, strength and power when you connect with me.

The varada mudra is a boon-granting gesture or a gesture of generosity which is made when Lakshmi’s hand is held outwards and downwards. Here she is open-handed and generous, endowing us with all we are ready to receive. She is ready to grant us our wish. This is her gift-giving hand ready to give a generous hand-out of courage, strength, power and valor to overcome difficulties in your life.

Previous post:

Next post: