Mountain Pose: Stability, Harmony and Balance, Shailaputri Durga, Durga Series, Yoga with Melissa 182

by Melissa West on

Intermediate Yoga Class

Namaste-Yoga-Episode-182Shailaputri Durga: Stability, Harmony and Balance of the Mountains

The first form of Durga is Shailaputri, which means the daughter of the mountains. (putri = daughter, shaila = mountains). In her first incarnation she lived the life as Shiva’s wife and threw herself into the fire as we told the story in epidsode 152 of Namaste Yoga

Today we will focus on her second incarnation as also Parvati, wife of Shiva, mother of Ganesha and Kartikeya. This time she is known as the absolute form of Mother Nature and the daughter of the Himalaya. She has a half moon on her forehead and holds a trident in her right hand and a lotus flower in her left hand as she rides Nandi, Shiva’s bull.

Shailaputri is celebrated on the first day of Navaratri. During this celebration focus is kept on the muladhara chakra/root chakra as this is the starting point for any spiritual discipline but also for the grounding of mountain of Shailaputri.

One of the primary mythological functions of Durga is to combat any demons who threaten the stability of the cosmos. For us, this stability can be physical, mental, emotional, energetic, or spiritual. Through our yoga practice we practice to find stability, not just physically, but also mentally, emotionally, energetically and spiritually.

Nearly all of Durga’s myths associate her with the mountains. Usually the Himalayas or the Vindhyas. The Mountains are said to be remote and inaccessible except through heroic efforts and so it is no surprise that our heroine Shailaputri Durga resides in such a place that requires courageous and heroic efforts to habitate.

Today, through mountain pose we will come to understand the harmony and balance of Shailaputri Durga and mountain pose/tadasana. Shailaputri Durga not only maintains the balance of cosmic order but of your own personal life as well.

Props Needed: Wall, Tennis Ball, Yoga Block, banket

Yoga Asanas/Postures: Reclined Mountain Pose, reclined 1/2 moon side bend, reclined ardha chandrasana, Malasana/Garland Pose, Foot series, Chair Pose/Utkatasana, Mountain Pose/Tadasana, Moving Mudra – Prithivi Mudra with Mudra for protection, Divine Light Invocation (Swami Sivananda Radha), Tree Pose/Vrksasana, Goddess Victory Squat/Utkata Konasana, Wide-legged standing forward fold/Prasarita Padottanasana, Locust/Salabhasana, parivrtta malasana/revolved garland pose, Mantra: Om Hrim Srim Dum Durgayai Namah
with the Prithivi Mudra

Thank you for leaving your ratings, comments and testimonials (click here)


Previous post:

Next post: